Our Surroundings

17 06 2009

Why is it that when people go overseas on mission trips such as ISP that our focus on God increases, we live with a purpose and find beauty in our surroundings?

These past few weeks I have had the privilege of spending every morning at 6am with my brother at Extreme Bootcamp (Ok, maybe not a privilege since it’s extreme torture on one’s body, but at least my brother and I are in torture together). Extreme Bootcamp is an exercise and weight loss program that my brother has been going through. They make us do everything from mountain climbers, sprints up and down hills, to push-ups till you can’t feel your arms any more.
Last Friday we went for a run through the hills of Chino. Now, for me, I get anxiety with just the thought of running, but today I found it quiet enjoyable. As we started the run my focus was on how far we were running and where the end was, but that focus soon shifted. I found my thoughts focused on God.

I thought it would be a great time to spend talking with God and enjoying the beauty he had surrounded me with. As my thoughts ran through my head, I was reminded of the beauty I have experienced in Brazil, Turkey, and Rwanda, all which were from ISP trips. At that moment God pointed to the beauty that had been surrounding me all these years and yet I never stopped to notice it. Isn’t it so true that the hectic American lifestyle takes away so much of the beauty surrounding us. Not just creation, but the beauty in life, such as dancing, laughing, creating, and dreaming. I hope that I not overlook God’s beauty in my daily life through the busyness of nursing school, work, friends, and being with my husband.

Here is the pic of my run
5021_511670597251_139000229_30461424_2936820_n

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

